New Chapters

Happy New Year!

Hello, welcome and Happy New Year!

happy-new-yearDid you stay up to see the New Year in, or, like me, would you have preferred something good on the TV and a decent night’s sleep?! Despite wanting to do the former, I did stay up to see the year in (or 2016 out, depending on your perspective!), but it was only because my son (who is nearly 5) and his friends wanted to – us grown ups were all nearly asleep in the corner whilst they bounced off the walls, it could have been the middle of the day as far as their energy levels were concerned!

The world in general didn’t seem to have a great 2016 and for me personally, 2016 was not a fun year. I don’t normally go in for the New Year thing, after all, it’s only a 6 changing to a 7, and the month changing from December to January, yet despite this I’m feeling determined this year. Determined to live every day in my life in the way I want, to be in control, make plans, not excuses and surround myself in inspiration and positive energy and influences. Sounds good right?

'because in the end, you won't remenber the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn. climb that goddamn mountain. -jack kerouac: Four years, 11 months and 26 days ago I had my first child. This should have been one of the best days of my life, but as many mum’s will appreciate – it doesn’t always feel that way. The following 6 months were tough whilst I was recovering from giving birth and whilst things slowly improved whilst I adjusted to my new world. The next few years were a rollercoaster, and one that I really wanted to get off. Towards the end of last year I came to a realisation. I realised I was trying to live several completely different lives and please so many different people – none of which were me. I needed to take the reins back on my life and make some changes pretty fast. It occurred to me that although I had been behaving like a mother for the last four years, I was only there physically, but not so much in spirit. I figured out this was mainly because I was still trying to find a way of carving a career for myself at work and be there for everyone else in my life. If it is important to you, you will find a way. If not, you will find an excuse. Framed Quote: It’s a little more complicated than I’m describing, but I hope you catch my drift. I took control of my life by taking a step down at work, reduced my working hours and adjusted my working pattern. It felt great.

After my lightbulb moment last year and a lot of reflecting, I’m back in the driving seat of my life. I don’t know where I’m headed yet, (normally that would freak me out!), but what’s different is that for the first time in a very long time I feel in control, so it doesn’t matter that I don’t have a destination yet.

Final thought: it doesn’t matter if it’s January 1st or April 21st, if you want to make some changes; you go for it 🙂

xo

Leave a Reply

