Day-to-Day Life Stuff

Pancakes!

pancakeslice
Yummy scrummy, in my tummy!

February might seem like a bit of a dull month where we’re all still recovering from the splurge of Christmas (both in the finance and the waist line department!), but it does have Pancake Day going for it.  I am a HUGE pancake fan, (not surprising really since it has the word ‘cake’ in it!).   Each year I’m reminded of years ago when my parents had not long moved into a house with an aga.  My mum was still adjusting to using it and it took hours to finish cooking the mixture.
All grown-up now(!) I make pancakes most Sunday’s for the three of us for breakfast.  In the last few years I’ve perfected (if I do say so myself!), the art of pancake making, so  I thought I’d share the recipe I use and the steps to cooking for those of you who are pancake making virgins 🙂

The recipe (makes approx. 4-5 pancakes)skimmedmilktip

1 egg
4.25oz Plain Flour
A pinch of salt (I use rock salt)
½ a pint of milk (I use either 1% fat or semi-skimmed)
Oil (I use Frylight sunflower oil spray)

How I do it

  1. Add a pinch of salt and the plain flour to the main superhotpanmixing bowl.
  2. Crack the egg into small bowl and beat with a fork.
  3. Add the egg to the main bowl.  Slowly pour in the measured milk and whilst mixing at the same time.
  4. Add oil (in your chosen form) to the frying pan and heat on a medium heat.  I give the pan a proper good covering of Frylight as otherwise it will stick.
  5. Once you can see a slight steam coming off the pan, ladle in a portion of batter and gently tilt the pan to spread it out.
    pancakepouringAfter the first pancake you might want to knock the heat down a smidge as it starts to get too hot and burn the pancakes!
  6. Lift up the edges of the pancake occasionally to check its progress.  Once you can move the pancake slightly with the slotted turner without the batter looking like it will break, it’s time to flip it over.  Repeat for the other side and voila!

Practice makes perfect!  I’ve had a few disasters, (and still do if I’m not concentrating!).  I prefer to cook mine a little slower on a just under medium heat as otherwise I find they tend to burn.

Fillings

pancaketoppingsI do love the traditional lemon and sugar, but also Nutella with salted caramel sauce tastes AMAZING.  Add some marshmallows in too for an extra sweet treat!  My hubby and son like them with syrup and some other friends have Nutella and banana… can’t quite fathom that combination – maybe they are trying to make it feel healthier?!

Final thought:  Whatever you’re doing on Tuesday 28th February, I hope it involves pancakes.  What are your favourite fillings?  Never made them before? Pop your pancake virginity and see what you’ve been missing out on!

xo

2 thoughts on “Pancakes!

Leave a Reply

